Emerging Leaders

Emerging Leaders 2022


The Emerging Leaders Programme (ELP) was first introduced in 2008 as the Future Leaders Programme (FLP). Today some of the participants to the programme hold key government positions and a number even lead an active role in the ICA community.

The aim of this programme is to introduce new “Thought Leaders”. By fostering innovation and disruptiveness the ELP will further expand the ICA exchange experience and networking but mainly support the responsiveness to new challenges by identifying key topics of interest to be addressed through collaboration and co-creation in ICA led common work/study groups.

The ELP objectives will:

  • Allow emerging leaders of digital governments from all over the world to benefit from the ICA community experience & network, and vice versa.
  • Bring together these emerging leaders onto the ICA common platform in order to allow opportunity to interact and collaborate towards delivering key outcomes on strategic topics which are of interest to both the emerging leaders and ICA.
  • Develop a network pipeline of driven and engaged emerging leaders who will help to take ICA towards the future.

The ELP candidacy pre-requisites include:

  • Candidates must be sponsored by at least one national representative or in the event of non-members, a government agency official, by way of an email letter sent to the ICA Secretariat. The proposal should present the potential candidate in sufficient detail and specify his/her support to this person.
  • Candidates must hold an active position in an e-Government (related) environment, be it at local, regional or national level.
  • Candidates must be fluent in English (speaking and writing).
  • ICA members but also non-members are welcome to make a nomination.
  • Member countries are also encouraged to nominate potential leaders from emerging countries, who are not ICA members, but would benefit from links to the ICA or from countries who are former ICA members.
  • The ELP candidate must communicate in writing his/her motivation to take part in the Programme and support the candidacy to the study group for at least one of the key topics to be addressed. Candidates must submit his/her letter and CV to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
  • The ICA Secretariat will present the candidates to the ICA Board at its spring meeting. After discussion and comparison with other candidates, the Board will decide on this year’s candidates by simple majority vote.

ELP study/work group key topics:

The Board and Programme Committee identifies, based on the ICA community interests, identify the key topics to be further collaborated upon and presented during the annual conference and/or periodic webinars and publications.

2022 key topics

Real-time Economy in Public sector

Real-time economy (RTE) is an environment where all the transactions between business entities are in digital format, increasingly automatically generated, and completed in real-time without store and forward processing, both from business and IT-processing perspectives. In Public Sector, the main benefit of RTE is associated with the elimination of "unproductive work" performed by businesses, citizens and the state, which can be done through real-time exchange of high-quality data. E.g.: imagine the full digital cycle from public consultation ➔ eProcurement ➔ eInvoicing ➔ accounting (also in a cross-border context). The purpose of this topic is to discuss the challenges, burdens and needs to implement a RTE status in public sector.

Sustainable technologies in public sector:

Climate change forces not only citizens and enterprises to adapt, but also compel the public sector to take actions in lowering its ecological footprint. As Government CIO’s we need to review the energy consumption of our data centers, chose other “greener” sources of energy, revisit the isolation of our computer rooms and buildings in general, maybe reduce our travels, etc.

The European Commission has launched its “Green Deal”; a major programme to make Europe more ecological friendly. Therefore, countries are invited to take action. Every year EU countries will have to report on their progress in this matter. The purpose of this topic is to discuss and exchange good practices in the public sector context.

Govtech in emerging countries:

GovTech is about applying emerging technologies (such as artificial intelligence, advanced sensing, blockchain, advanced data processing, etc.) in order to improve the delivery of public services through increasing efficiency and lowering costs. One may consider that this is easier to implement in advanced countries. But is this really so? Emerging countries could maybe leapfrog and be more efficient than the western world. So, who inspires whom in this matter? The purpose of this topic is to discuss and exchange good practice in public sector context.

For further information, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Emerging Leaders 2022: Real-time Economy in Public Sector

Belgium Mr. Guido Doucet| Senior Project Manager, BOSA
Estonia Ms. Sirli Heinsoo | Head of Real-Time Economy (Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications) in Business and Consumer Environment Department.
Finland Ms. Minna Rintala | Project Director for the Real-Time Economy project coordinated by the Finnish Patent and Registration Office (PRH)
Singapore Mr. Simon Ang | GoBusiness Product Management in Public Sector
Taiwan Dr. Hsin-Chung Liao | Deputy Director, Taiwan E-Governance Research

Past Programme Leaders

2015 awarded Future Leaders were Mr. Lourino Chemane from Mozambique and Ms. Daiva Chetcuti-Kirkilaitè from Lithuania.

flp img3 flp img4


ICA Future Leaders:

YearICA Future Leaders
2015 CHEMANE, Mr Lourino
2014 Laura Wesley, Canada
2014 Karin Rits, Estonia
2014 Yu Takaseki, Japan
2013 Hugrún Ösp Reynisdóttir, Iceland
2013 Artur Reaboi, Moldova
2013 Mr. António Bob Santos, Portugal
2013 Gary Simpson, United Kingdom
2012 Laura Simpson, Canada
2012 Eran Carmon, Israel
2012 Erik Jonker, The Netherlands
2011 Phumeza Stuurman, South Africa
2011 Dr. Tzy-Yuan (Dawn) Chou, Taiwan
2011 Emma Gawen, United Kingdom
2010 Simon Thompson, Australia
2010 Benjamin Bienfait, Belgium
2009 Jane Iglesias, Australia
2009 Sarah Roper, United States of America
2008 Matt Lane, New Zealand
2008 Warren Hero, South Africa
2008 Stephen A Ressler, United States of America